

ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING October 13, 2018 Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe, AZ

MINUTES

Martha Banz (University of Oklahoma), AGLSP President, called the meeting to order at 8:45 am. Board members present were: Michael Garval (North Carolina State University) Vice-President, Christopher Pastore (University of Pennsylvania) Treasurer, Jill LeRoy-Frazier (East Tennessee State University), Rebecca Sharp Sanchez (Rice University), Jerry Van Hoy (University of Toledo), Paul Morris (Arizona State University)

Also in attendance were: Tara White Kee (University of Delaware), Susan Jacobs (DePaul University), David Gitomer (DePaul University), Joy Austin (University of Memphis), Colin Chapell (University of Memphis), Joanne Gikas (University of Memphis), Mark Kulstad (Rice University), Riki Thompson (University of Washington-Tacoma), Bill Nericcio (San Diego State University), Marja Karelia (Simon Fraser University), Barbara Amen (Reed College), Linda Paulson (Stanford University), Kent Wicker (Duke University), Jennifer Chutter (Simon Fraser University), Sara Walsh (Indiana University Southeast), Laura DeSisto (Johns Hopkins University) and Kim Raptis, AGLSP administrative manager.

- Agenda was approved. Motion, Colin Chapell, second, Jerry Van Hoy. Motion carried.
- The 2016 Annual Business Meeting Minutes were presented and approved. (There was no business meeting in 2017.) Motion, Paul Morris, second, Michael Garval. Motion carried.
- President's Report Martha Banz

Martha began by communicating what a year it has been. There were a number of changes. Because of issues in NC HB2, the board made the difficult decision to cancel the 2017 conference and tried to keep members involved. A virtual directors' workshop was offered. The board was notified that Duke University would no longer be able to serve as the home office as of March 2017. The home office was temporarily housed at the University of Oklahoma and relocated to Rice University in July 2018. Martha thanked Rebecca Sharp Sanchez for helping to facilitate the new home office.

- Treasurer's Report Christopher Pastore Chris proposed the budget for 2019. He noted lower institutional member numbers and mentioned that the conference usually pays for itself. There were some cost savings as there was no conference in 2017 and OU did not charge for services during the interim. Jill LeRoy-Frazier moved to accept the budget, second- Jerry Van Hoy, Motion carried.
- Committee Reports Membership Committee – Given by Martha Banz

There are 65 paid institutional members, 60 student/alumni members and 5 individual members. Student memberships have grown because of the Student Honor Society. Institutional membership down poses significant challenges to the association.

Student Honor Society - Rebecca Sharp Sanchez

Rebecca reported that there are 11 new honor society chapters since the last business meeting. We have 16 total. Rebecca encouraged institutions to join and take advantage of the opportunity for their students. It is simple to apply and names of eligible students should be sent to the home office.

Annual Faculty Award- Martha Banz

Nominations are open for the 2019 Faculty Award. Tara White Kee will head the nomination committee. Martha encouraged members to nominate faculty for this award.

• Annual Conference- Martha Banz

Martha discussed moving conference location by geographical area. The DC metro area is in consideration for 2019. Michael Garval mentioned San Antonio as a possible location for 2020 and southern CA for 2021. The board proposed getting on a rotation three years in advance. This will help with planning and give members considerable notice to plan to attend. Board meetings will be held in location of proposed meeting 3 years in advance to do some research for location before it is chosen. The board will take on a larger role with selection and planning of conference. Next summer's board meeting will be in southern CA to do future research. The hope would be to have any institutions in the area help with teaming to build the conference. The board will continue to choose location each year for three years out.

• *Confluence* Report- Martha Banz

Steve Burr was not able to be here for the meeting. Martha shared the potential of the Repository Project. Steve is hopeful that we have enough submissions to go back to producing two issues of the Confluence per year. Solicitation for Confluence sponsorships will be sent after the conference. Chris Pastore talked about the value of using the Confluence sponsorship to promote institutional programs. The journal is always looking for volunteers for the Confluence review board.

• Board of Director Nominations – Martha Banz

Four current board members' terms are expiring. Michael Garval reviewed the list of board nominees. He will serve as President, Christopher Pastore as Vice President, and Rebecca Sharp Sanchez as Treasurer. Ana Thorne will serve for one year to complete the term of Millie Kidd. Other new board members will be Tom Cook from Rollins College, Tara White Kee from University of Delaware and Bill Nericcio from San Diego State University. Motion to accept to board members was made by Colin Chapell, Second, Kent Wicker, motion carried.

• New Business- Martha

The board would like feedback on the association's website and how it can be more dynamic and interactive. She asked for members to please let the association know how the website can function better for their use. Rebecca Sharp Sanchez proposed sending out a survey. Bill Nericcio asked if we will hire a webmaster. David Gitomer worked with a web designer the last time the website and association logo was updated. We would like to have a website that is sustainable.

Mike thanked Martha for her service and presented her with an award.

Meeting adjourned 9:46

Respectfully submitted,

Kim Raptis October 19, 2018