Our Services

The Association provides services to its members, as well as colleges and universities seeking to establish Graduate Liberal Studies programs, and students seeking information about existing programs. Such services include:


The AGLSP offers a selection of resources for directors of GLS program: compilations of core and interdisciplinary course syllabi, program data from  member surveys, and the guidebook for directors. Members have access to all publications through our Resources for Members Page.

Non members may purchase AGLSP publications. Click here for the order form.

Confluence: The Journal of Graduate Liberal Studies

Confluence: The Journal of Graduate Liberal Studies is an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the publication of scholarly and creative works by students, faculty, and graduates of GLS programs.  Click here for the journal

Annual Faculty Award

The AGLSP Annual Faculty Award was established by the Association’s Board of Directors in 1991. The award recognizes an outstanding faculty member in an AGLSP Full Member institution, who exemplifies the qualities of interdisciplinary, liberal learning, and who has participated significantly in teaching, mentoring, and/or advising students, or actively participated in other faculty service in a GLS program. Recent recipients are:

  • 2016 – Professor John W. Freeman, Rice University
  • 2015 – Professor Francis J. Ambrosio, Georgetown University
  • 2014 – Professor J. Dennis Huston, Rice University
  • 2013 – Professor Paula Marks, St. Edward’s University
  • 2012 – Professor Klaus J. Milich, Dartmouth College
  • 2011 – Professor Sheldon Solomon, Skidmore College
  • 2010 – Professor Terrence P. Reynolds, Georgetown University
  • 2008 – Professor Rick Halperin, Southern Methodist University
  • 2007 – Professor J.Thomas Cook, Rollins College
  • 2006 – Professor DonnaMae J. Gustafson, University of Minnesota
  • 2005 – Professor Lawrence Sutin, Hamline University
  • 2004 – Professor Carole Shaffer-Koros, Kean University

Nominations for the 2016 award are due March 31, 2016. Click here for the 2016 Call for Nominations.

Outstanding Contribution Award

The Outstanding Contribution Award, established by the Board in 2005, recognizes an outstanding faculty member, program director, or administrator from a Full Member institution of the AGLSP who has established an extraordinary record of long-term leadership, advocacy, and commitment to Graduate Liberal Studies. The award celebrates a lifetime record of achievement that has significantly advanced the mission of interdisciplinary graduate education regionally, nationally, or internationally. This honor is awarded by the Board. Recent recipients are:

  • 2007 – Dr. R. Barry Levis, Rollins College
  • 2006 – Dr. Phyllis O’Callaghan, Georgetown University
  • 2005 – Dr. Charles R. Strain, DePaul University

Annual Conference

2017 Annual Conference: Practice & Theory
October 19-21, 2017
Raleigh, NC
Hosted by North Carolina State University, Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program

2016 Annual Conference: Tradition and Transformation

October 20 – 22, 2016
Oklahoma City, OK
Hosted by the University of Oklahoma, College of Liberal Studies

2015 Annual Conference: Place Matters
October 15 – 17, 2015
San José, CA
Hosted by the Master of Liberal Arts Program, Stanford University

2014 Annual Conference: Revolutions: Past, Present, and Future
October 9-11, 2014
Philadelphia, PA
Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania MLA Program and the Villanova University GLS Program

2013 Annual Conference: Urban Gateways: Immigration and the Global City
October 10-12, 2013
Chicago, IL
Hosted by the Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program, DePaul University

2012 Annual Conference: The Crisis of the Book: Worlds of Opportunity, Worlds of Change
October 18-20, 2012
Portland, OR
Hosted by the Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program, Reed College

2011 Annual Conference: Source of Strife and Life: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Water
October 13-15, 2011
Saratoga Springs, NY
Hosted by the Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program, Skidmore College

2010 Annual Conference: The Transformation of the 21st Century City
October 7-9, 2010
Dallas, TX
Hosted by the Graduate Liberal Studies Program, Southern Methodist University