AGLSP News & Events

Welcome New Members

Welcome New Associate Members!

- University of Central Oklahoma, Master of Liberal Studies, Dr. Stephen C. Law, Graduate Director

Welcome New Student/Alumni Members!

- Kellie D. Lewis (Temple University)
- Virginia P. Justice (alumna Rollins College)
- Tamara Tinker (alumna Stanford University Continuing Studies)
- Jenifer Baldwin (alumna Temple University)
- Larry Creech (alumnus Georgetown University)
- Susan Benson (alumna Reed College)
- John R. Mazza (Wake Forest University)
- Timothy D. McCollum (Eastern Oregon University)
- Cally E. Mervine (Harrison College)
- Patti Patridge (Wake Forest University)
- Andy Hughes (alumnus UNC  - Greensboro)

Welcome New Individual Members!

- Christopher W. Franz, St. Joseph Hill Academy
- Dr. Carole Shaffer-Koros, Professor Emerita – English (Kean University)
- William Eaton, Executive Editor Zeteo: The Journal of Interdisciplinary Writing


Posted under AGLSP News

2014 Annual Conference – Revolutions: Past, Present, and Future – Register Today!

2014 Annual Conference – Revolutions: Past, Present, and Future
October 9-11, 2014
Philadelphia, PA
Hosted by The University of Pennsylvania MLA Program and the Villanova University GLS Program



See the map links below for UPenn’s Campus and the Sheraton hotel

UPenn’s Campus Map

Sheraton University City Center Hotel - Thursday Pre Conference Workshop, Friday Evening Banquet and Saturday Breakfast and Business Meeting

UPenn’s Fisher- Bennet Hall – Panel Location - Friday and Saturday

UPenn’s Silverman Hall – Thursday Evening Reception  – Thursday Opening Reception

Philadelphia has long been home to revolutionary thought. Its most famous son, Benjamin Franklin—inventor, scientist, newspaper mogul, diplomat, political philosopher, educational reformer, signer of the Declaration of Independence, statesman—is the embodiment of the myriad revolutions that continue to shape human history, especially in modern times.

For the 2014 AGLSP conference, we will explore the theme of Revolutions. Appropriately, the conference will take place here in Philadelphia, birthplace of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, at the University of Pennsylvania, the university that Franklin founded (in the spirit of educational reform) and the home of the ENIAC—the first computer that revolutionized the face of modern technology. Guest speakers and workshop panel information will be posted soon.

Featured Speaker – Thursday Evening, October 9th

Jonathan Israel, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton

Revolutions and Democratic Revolutions – What Makes the Vital Difference?

Most revolutions in modern history have ended in dictatorship, severe censorship and prolonged repression. Only a few, most notably the American Revolution, have resulted in stable constitutional outcomes that establish and preserve basic human rights.

What makes the difference? This lecture argues that the most essential ingredient has been the Radical Enlightenment democratic tradition.

Jonathan Israel spent most of his career teaching at University College London. He has researched and written mainly on Early Modern European and colonial history. Since 2001 he was been Professor of Modern European History at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton. His most recent two books are: Democratic Enlightenment: Philosophy, Revolution and Human Rights 1750-1790 (Oxford, 2011) and Revolutionary Ideas:  An intellectual History of the French Revolution from The Rights of Man to Robespierre (Princeton, 2014)

Hotel Accommodations 

Please note that The Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel room block for the conference is sold out. You may ask to be put on the waiting list under the room block: The Association of Graduate Liberal Studies. Their direct line is 888-627-7071.

Alternate hotels suggestions are:

The Radnor Hotel – near Villanova (on the Main Line).  There is a complimentary car service to and from the train station in Radnor (which is walkable from the Radnor hotel).  From 30th Street Station (where the conference hotel is located), it’s a short walk to Penn campus (approximately 6 blocks).

Philadelphia Airport Marriott   - The ride on the Septa Regional Rail Train from Terminal B – where the Marriott is located – is about 20-25 minutes. Station just a short bit from the conference hotel lobby and about 300 yds from the Penn Museum – 10 min walk to the Sheraton or Fisher-Bennett Hall on UPenn’s Campus.  Book your group rate: Association of Graduate Liberal Studies >>

Use the Trip Advisor Link or to find other hotels near the conference hotel and UPenn

Conference Registration Form



Posted under AGLSP News, Conference News

Annual Faculty Award

The AGLSP Annual Faculty Award is offered each year by the Association to honor an outstanding faculty member who teaches in a Full Member program. The award was established by the Association’s Board of Directors in 1991 to recognize outstanding faculty who exemplify the qualities of interdisciplinary, liberal teaching and who have participated significantly in teaching or advising students and/or have actively participated in other faculty service in a Graduate Liberal Studies program.

The 2013 AFA was awarded to Professor Paula Marks of St. Edward’s University. Professor Marks brings her scholarship into the classroom in an accessible manner, and encourages active, student-focused learning. Her teaching for her program — which includes an innovative Liberal Studies introductory course on Time, as well as courses on American place, frontier and spirituality — has been notably interdisciplinary.

Nominations for the 2014 award are now closed.

Posted under AGLSP News

Confluence Writing Award Recipients

During the AGLSP conference banquet each October, in a formal award ceremony, the Association celebrates two current or recent graduate students of member programs for excellence in writing.

The 2013 recipients are:

  • Jackson Shultz (Dartmouth College) for excellence in creative writing for “Transforming Relationships: An Oral History of Transgender Experiences in Love and Romance”
  • Kenneth Mumma (Villanova University) for excellence in interdisciplinary writing for “Law for the Chosen: Levitical Interpretation and the Homosexual Prohibitions”

The winning entries are published in the Fall 2013 issue of Confluence, and often a good number of the other entries are published there as well, so the annual writing awards process provides a great opportunity to bring the best critical and creative writing being done in member programs before a wider audience. The winners each receive $500.

Nominations are closed for 2014.

If you have any questions or would like to brainstorm with editor Ken Smith about how to involve your program, feel free to call: 574-520-4173. Check out 2014 Confluence Award Guidelines for the deadline and other requirements.

Posted under AGLSP News